The Northeast region of the United States contains 11 states. Similarly to other U.S. states, these states enact nursing home laws in order to protect, promote, and maintain optimal health and well-being for all state nursing home residents. A number of state and federal agencies are responsible for regulating and monitoring state nursing home laws to ensure compliance. To learn about comprehensive nursing home laws for a particular state, contact the state’s regulating agency, such as the Department of Health.

Nursing Home Laws in New England States

Connecticut Nursing Home Laws

The Connecticut Department of Public Health conducts regulation and licensure of nursing home facilities in the state. The Connecticut Department of Health works to maintain health outcomes and a proper balance between administrative burdens and quality care. Connecticut nursing home laws require that each resident receives a comprehensive medical exam within 48 hours of being admitted to a nursing home facility. This assessment should also be based on the patient’s medical history.

Delaware Nursing Home Laws

Delaware nursing home laws state that social services must be provided so that each resident can maintain physical, mental, and psychosocial health at the highest practicable level. Nursing home staff member are required to assist each resident to his or her individual needs to meet these levels. Meals and food service must also reflect these needs. Any therapeutic alterations in diet must be prescribed by an attending physician within 72 hours of the alteration implementation. For more information on Delaware nursing home laws, contact the Delaware Department of Health and Social Services.

Maine Nursing Home Laws

Maine nursing home laws restrict the use of physical or chemical restraints for disciplinary or convenience purposes when not required for treatment of a resident’s medical condition. The use of physical restraints must be ordered by a practicing physician. To obtain a complete copy of Maine nursing home laws, contact the Maine Department of Health and Human Services.

Massachusetts Nursing Home Laws

The Massachusetts Executive Office of Health and Human Services (EOHHS) provides a number of resources for current and prospective nursing home residents and their families. These resources include nursing home reports, nursing home care guides and resources, assistance with nursing home selection, and full Massachusetts nursing home laws. Massachusetts nursing home laws require that facilities provide nursing services that are available 24 hours, seven days a week.

New Hampshire Nursing Home Laws

New Hampshire nursing home laws provide residents with 24-hour services that include meals, rehabilitative care, skilled nursing services, medical services, and protective supervision to ensure health and well-being. New Hampshire nursing homes must implement detailed programs for emergency response and crisis prevention. For detailed information on New Hampshire nursing home laws, contact the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services.

Rhode Island Nursing Home Laws

Rhode Island nursing home laws aim to protect the health, safety, and well-being of nursing home residents. Policies and procedures for resident care must be annually developed and reviewed, and revised as necessary. Each facility must maintain written plans which prevent the hazards which may occur from residents wandering from the facility. For more information on Rhode Island nursing home laws, contact the State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations Department of Health.

Vermont Nursing Home Laws

The Vermont Agency of Human Services’ Agency of Aging and Disabilities provides the standards and guidelines for Vermont Nursing Home Laws. Under Vermont nursing home laws, a registered nurse must be on duty for no less than eight consecutive hours each day, seven days each week. Each facility must appoint a registered nurse as the full-time director of nursing. This director of nursing may only serve as a charge nurse in cases where the facility is occupied by 60 or less residents on average.

Nursing Home Laws in Mid-Atlantic States

New Jersey Nursing Home Laws

The New Jersey Department of Health ensures that all nursing facilities comply with New Jersey’s mandatory state regulations. The Department conducts roughly 400 nursing home facility inspections, or surveys, each year. The Department also investigates and responds to complaints filed by residents and their family members and representatives. For complete New Jersey nursing home laws, contact the New Jersey Department of Health.

New York Nursing Home Laws

New York nursing home laws dictate a number of aspects regarding nursing home function and services, including a resident bill of rights. Among a number of other rights, residents are entitled to treatment and services that are free from abuse, neglect, and discrimination. Nursing home residents are entitled to receive full information on their medical condition and treatment. For full resident rights and information and resources on New York nursing home laws, policies, and processes, contact the New York Department of Health.




“Chapter 110: Regulations Governing the Licensing and Functioning of Skilled Nursing Facilities and Nursing Facilities.” Maine Department of Health and Human Services. Maine Department of Health and Human Services. Web. 29 Sep 2013. <>.

“Licensing and Operating Rules for Nursing Homes.” Vermont Department of Disabilities, Aging & Independent Living. Vermont Agency of Human Services, 15 Dec 2001. Web. 29 Sep 2013. <>.

“Long-term Hospitals.” University of Minnesota School of Public Health. Connecticut Department of Public Health. Web. 29 Sep 2013. < Complete Regs.pdf>.

“New Jersey Nursing Home Oversight – General Information.” New Jersey Department of Health. State of New Jersey. Web. 29 Sep 2013. <>.

“Nursing Home Care.” New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services. State of New Hampshire. Web. 29 Sep 2013. <>.

“Nursing Homes.” Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Web. 29 Sep 2013. <>.

“Nursing Homes in New York State.” New York Department of Health. New York State. Web. 29 Sep 2013. <>.

“Rules and Regulations for Licensing of Nursing Facilities.” Rhode Island Office of the Secretary of State. State of Rhode Island. Web. 29 Sep 2013. <>.