The Western region of the United States contains 11 states. These 11 states have separate state-level nursing home laws in addition to federal nursing home laws required of nursing home facilities that receive federal funding for Medicare and Medicaid services. Similarly to other regions of the U.S., nursing home laws in the western states are in place to ensure that all residents maintain personal rights and receive the highest possible standard of care.
Nursing Home Laws in Mountain States
Colorado Nursing Home Laws
Colorado nursing home laws require that all nursing home facilities must have and follow certain policies written for the care of residents. The Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment is the responsible agency for licensing and certifying Colorado nursing homes. Nursing home administrators are licensed and regulated through the Colorado Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators. For more information, contact the appropriate regulatory agency.
Idaho Nursing Home Laws
The Bureau of Facility Standards cooperates with the Centers for Medicare/Medicaid Services and the Idaho Department of Health to serve and protect Idaho residents who require nursing home care and other health-related supports, services, and supervision. These entities work to ensure that each resident retains his or her rights, safety, dignity, and well-being. They must also maintain the highest functional level of independence possible.
Montana Nursing Home Laws
The Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services oversees senior and long term care in Montana. The Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services’ mission statement includes advocating and promoting the independence and dignity of older Montanans and those with disabilities. In order to do this, Montana nursing home laws aim to provide education, information, and assistance.
Nevada Nursing Home Laws
Nevada nursing home laws state that each facility must provide 24-hour-a-day nursing services provided or supervised by a licensed registered nurse. The Nevada Bureau of Health Care Quality and Compliance provides nursing homes and other health facilities with proper licensure and certification. For more information on Nevada nursing home laws, visit the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services.
Utah Nursing Home Laws
Under Utah nursing home laws, all residents must have 100 square feet of personal space in single rooms and 80 square feet per bed in rooms with multiple beds. Upon admission, each facility must obtain and implement a physician’s immediate care orders. Additionally, the facility must provide a comprehensive assessment of each resident and provide a personalized care plan based on this assessment.
Wyoming Nursing Home Laws
Wyoming nursing home laws state that each facility must provide a 24-hour nursing service for all residents. The required of ratios of nursing home staff members to residents varies based on factors such as the amount of residents in the facility and the time of day. The Wyoming Department of Health is responsible for licensing and certifying nursing home facilities in the state. For full details on Wyoming nursing home laws, contact the Wyoming Secretary of State.
Nursing Home Laws in Pacific States
Alaska Nursing Home Laws
Alaska nursing home laws dictate basic requirements for several aspects of Alaska nursing homes. These requirements cover aspects such as nursing and medical services, use of restraints and psychoactive drugs, physician services, rehabilitation services, activity programs, and staff duties. Alaska nursing home facilities are required to maintain written policies to outline and direct nursing home services and resident rights.
Hawaii Nursing Home Laws
Hawaii nursing home laws require that each resident receives a nutritionally-sound and well-balanced diet to meet his or her specific nutritional needs. The Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs provides regulation and requirements for nursing home administrators in the state. To obtain complete Hawaii nursing home laws, contact the Hawaii Department of Health.
Oregon Nursing Home Laws
Facilities must maintain and implement a written plan to ensure sufficient staffing to meet the health needs of each resident. Under Oregon nursing home laws, each facility must publicly post the number nursing staff at all times. Each resident must receive at least one hour of registered nurse (RN) care per week. For more information on Oregon nursing home laws, contact the Oregon Department of Human Services, Seniors and People with Disabilities Division.
Washington Nursing Home Laws
Washington nursing home laws dictate a set of resident rights that must be accommodated by all facilities at all times. The resident retains the right to select his or her own personal attending physician. Residents may also participate in their own care and treatment, including the right to deny changes in care or recommended treatment. If the resident is physically or mentally incapable of these decisions, a surrogate decision-maker must be identified and consulted.
“Health Facilities.” Nevada State Health Division. Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health. Web. 28 Sep 2013. <http://health.nv.gov/HCQC_HealthFacilities.htm>.
“Medical and Other Related Facilities.” Nevada Legislature. Legislative Counsel Bureau. Web. 28 Sep 2013. <https://leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-449.html>.
“R432. Health, Health Systems Improvement, Licensing.” School of Public Health, University of Minnesota. State of Utah. Web. 28 Sep 2013. <http://www.hpm.umn.edu/nhregsplus/NHRegs_by_State/Utah/UT Complete Regs.pdf>.
“Section 3: Statutes & Regulations on Advance Directives Washington State Regulations for Nursing Homes.” Washington State Hospital Association. Washington State Hospital Association. Web. 28 Sep 2013. <http://www.wsha.org/EOL-Statutes-NrsingHms.cfm>.
“Senior and Long Term Care.” Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services. State of Montana. Web. 28 Sep 2013. <http://www.dphhs.mt.gov/sltc/>.